Yam Layer Birthday Cake Recipe

Yam Layer Cake Recipe
This recipe yields a 9″ cake
Ingredients:

SPONGE CAKE
100g plain flour
100g butter (I used LIV salted)
90g fine sugar (I’ve already reduced this)
4 eggs (I used 60g Seng Choon eggs)

YAM KAYA
(A)
800ml water
150g sugar (I’ve already reduced this)
A pinch of salt
2 tsp agar agar powder

(B)
300ml coconut milk
300g Thai Yam

(C)
100ml coconut milk
100ml water
120g Hoen Kueh flour
1 tsp yam liquid yam flavour (I got mine from PH)
A small bit of purple/violet gel food colouring (I used Wilton)

DECORATION
120ml whipping cream
1 1/2 tbsp dried dessicated coconut
Wilton gel food colouring

 

METHOD

Dice up the yam. Steam the yam cubes on high heat for 20 minutes or till soft.

Mash up the cubes. I found the mixture still very tough and difficult to ‘dissolve’ so I’d suggest blending it with the coconut milk in (B), about 300ml.

Mix the coconut milk with the yam.

Mix all in (C).

Boil (A). Add (B) into (A).

As the mixture was still lumpy, I blended it. I’d suggest doing this despite the fact that it’s a hassle. You may either blend (B) first before adding it into (A) that has been boiled OR you may boil (A), add (B) and then blend the entire mixture before returning it to boil.

Allow the mixture to boil, stirring it constantly.

Add (C) into the mixture and allow it to thicken.

Prepare cake ring on cake board. If you’re using an expandable cake ring like me that has minor gaps at the bottom of the cake ring, layer it with some aluminium foil.

Slice the cake into 3 layers. Place layer 1 into the cake ring and add 1/3 of the yam kaya into the cake ring. Add layer 2 and 3 the same way.

Place cake into the chiller to set for at least an hour.

The cake all chilled! Using the back of a small knife, release the cake from the cake ring. Remove cake ring and trim the excess aluminium foil.

Whip up the whipping cream. I portioned my whipping cream as such:
Yellow: Blue: Pink
2: 1: 1

I lined the side of the cake dessicated coconut and piped vertical strips on the sides of the cake.

Source From : http://www.thebakingbiatch.com/2012/08/yam-layer-cake.html

 

Leave a Reply

